2010 BC Creative Achievement Awards

Posted by Randi Walker
March 25th, 2010


The Carter Wosk BC Creative Achievement Awards for Applied Art and Design celebrate British Columbians who through their creativity contribute to the cultural and economic fabric of the Province.

The awards recognize individuals whose work has a practical function. Artists and designers who work in jewellery, glass, wood, fibre, clay and metal or in such areas, but not limited to, textiles, furniture, weaving, ceramics, fashion and industrial design are eligible.

Both established and emerging artist and designers are invited to apply. Up to three awards will be presented annually.

BC Wood is proud to acknowledge that two of our members have been past recipients of this prestigious award; Martha Study and Judson Beaumont.  You can follow this link http://www.bcachievement.com/creative/info.php to see photos and video from last year’s awards event.

BC Creative Achievement Award

Award Recognition

Up to three recipients will be awarded $2,500 each at a presentation and exhibition event to be held in the Fall of 2010. The recipients will be granted the use of the British Columbia Creative Achievement Award seal to signify their creative excellence.


A citizen or permanent resident of Canada, who has been a resident of British Columbia for the past three years, is eligible to apply. Posthumous submissions will not be accepted.

In the context of this award, Applied means art and design that has a practical or functional application or that emulates such a function as part of its principal aesthetic. For example, a wood designer who creates furniture, a glass artist who creates vases, or an industrial designer who creates a usable object or device are eligible, even if the objects they create are not truly functional. In contrast, an individual who practices a discipline that traditionally falls under the heading Fine Art, such as painting or sculpture, is not eligible.

We Encourage You to Apply
An individual may submit his or her work or another individual may nominate a person for this award. Please complete the 2010 Submission Form and submit with the supporting material to the British Columbia Achievement Foundation.

Deadline for submissions is April 30, 2010

Comments are closed.